• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Buying advice for a newbie on a budget. (1 Viewer)

WellKristOff

United Kingdom
As the title suggests, I am brand new to birdwatching to the point where I don’t even have any binoculars yet.

I am very much on a budget of £100 which I know doesn’t give me a huge amount of options.

I’m looking at:
Bushnell H2O
Celestron Outlander X
Olympus DPSI
Opticron Adventurer II

The Bushnell and Olympus are Porro while the Celestron and Opticron are roof, if that makes any difference at this level?

All are available as 8x42 or 10x42 though I’m not sure what is best for a beginner?

Obviously I’m open to suggestions of binoculars I’ve not considered.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

If you are not too bothered about waterproofing I would go with a porro as you will get better optics for your money compared to a roof.

If you can find a reputable dealer in your area, you might think about used.

You will end up with a much better glass than your budget will permit new.

Knowing where you are will permit some of our UK cousins to suggest some of the better dealers.

I agree with Maljunulo. I would look for a used porro because usually they are a better value than a roof. Low end roofs can really be inconsistent in quality. One possibility would be a Leopold Yosemite 6x30. They are actually pretty good, and they run about $100 USD.

We have Olympus DPSI and pic quality is as good as it gets in 100£ category. Only problems might be 1) insufficient eye relief, if you use glasses and 2) maybe water proofing is not sufficient for heavy rain.