• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Comment on 7x50mm - 420ft/yds - tasco for a beginner (1 Viewer)

Niegrau

Hi everyone
I recently took up a hobby to feedwatch the birds but I'm totally new to this like I have no idea what equipment I need. I guessed binoculars help us watch but what kind?
Is a 7x50mm - 420ft/yds - tasco good enough to watch birds? It has to be posted to me from the States as at the moment I am staying in Tehran, Iran for about a year.
Thanks in advance
Gabriel

Birds on feeders are great fun, it's a terrific way to relax and enjoy the show. If you already own the Tascos then sure, why not. If you're buying new binoculars then no, Tasco doesn't have a very good reputation for quality and 7x50 is light gathering overkill for your purpose.

Let's spend under $100. Let's bump up the magnification since we won't need a wide field of view to search for the birds; they're on the feeder. Let's get a smaller and therefore lighter objective because there's not a lot of twilight action at my feeders. I suggest one of the Nikon or Pentax compact reverse porro prism designs, 8x24 or 8x21.

Light, easy to carry and ship. If bird watching turns out not to be for you they make a nice gift that won't embarrass you. If you become a super birder they're great permanently stored in the glove box for quick looks.

Hope you have a wonderful year. Try to travel if you can. There are some truly remarkable cultural treasures in Iran. It's a fabulous opportunity.

Jerry