• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Complete novice needing camera & adapter advice (1 Viewer)

Secret Twitcher

Right then all you photographers, I would like to pick your brains for a little advice. After seeing some of the fantastic digiscoped images I have decided to take a tentative step into the world of photography. I have bought a shiny new scope today (Opticron ES80 GA ED with 20-60 HDF eyepiece) but dont have a clue what bits and bats I need to have a reasonable crack at digiscoping. A camera would be a start I reckon. Would anyone be able to recommend a camera/adapter combination which may work well with my scope? If not, what sort of things do I need to be looking for to identify a suitable digiscoping camera? (lens/zoom etc?)

My top budget would be £200 for the lot. Perhaps a bit measly but the scope has nearly cleaned me out!

Have had the opticron & lumix kit (£269) on the infocus website recommended but wondered if it could be done a little cheaper?

Many thanks in advance

I am not familiar with your brand of scope...but do know when I was looking for a camera for mine, it helped to take the scope into a camera shop or where they sell point and shoots, and try them out. Unless someone has tried it and you know it will work on your scope with your adapter, you might have a ton of vignetting..

I do not understand the prices you are looking at. Here in the States the cost of the FS10, or FH1 here is $119. USD, that is 77 pound. See my post of Birdforum, Aug. 31 st:

http://www.birdforum.net/forumdisplay.php?f=305