• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Elegant tern? (1 Viewer)

condor1992

Spain
Currently I'm having a fight with an ebird moderator who is witholding my observation from ebird on the grounds that he isn't sure that the tern is. What is that tern? It was sitting next to the confirmed elegant tern I posted earlier in the gallery
DSC00915.JPG

I can't rule anything out. I'm not that good with terns. A look on the internet, however, suggested to me that this was an elegant. Plus the area is in close proximity to a known colony of elegants at the Albufera de Valencia

I can't rule anything out. I'm not that good with terns. A look on the internet, however, suggested to me that this was an elegant. Plus the area is in close proximity to a known colony of elegants at the Albufera de Valencia
To be fair, 200km is a good stretch but it's more likely to be Elegant than any other yellow-billed tern. Pinet is well watched though, so hopefully it will be picked up again.

The balance of probability is that it is one of the two Elegent Terns which have been frequenting El Pinet. However drawing a conclusive ID from the posted image is another thing entirely.

Last edited:
The point others are making is that it may well be an Elegant Tern, given the location, but with the known existence of hybrids it is not possible to exclude something else from this photo. The ebird reviewer presumably can not agree that from this one image an ID can be certain.