• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Identifying birds and this finch - Southern Utah, USA (1 Viewer)

MattDinUtah

United States
I'm a brand new birder, aside from being curious in the past and looking something specific up I've never done any birding before I started taking photos of them about six weeks ago. I have the National Geographic Guide to Western Birds of North America and have been using it to try and identify the birds I see in my backyard.

In looking at a bird recently I noticed a discrepancy, at least to my eyes, in what the guild was telling me and what I was seeing. I'm wrestling with the differences between a house finch and Cassin's finch (I believe this bird to be a finch, just trying to determine which one). For the male house finch, my guide says that the house finch can have red, orange or occasional yellow coloring, brownish streaked flanks and a blocked off tail. Cassin's finch has long bill with a straight culmen, red and pale pink coloring with fine streaks on the flanks and a strongly notched tail.

The picture I included here is of what I think is a house finch, his beak is not long (to my eyes anyway), he has pink, orange and yellow coloring, his flank streaks are not fine (again, to my eye), though his tail is notched.

Unknown Finch 20210801-3.jpg