• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is there an online bird identifier for desktop/laptop - not phone ? (1 Viewer)

walterbyrd

Merlin seems like an interesting app. But when I upload photos from my DSLR, to my desktop computer, it would seem absurd to then move the photos to my phone. Is there some website that will identify birds from an uploaded jpg?

Can try Google lens, I think

I tried it and it works okay on clear unambiguous images but that's about as far as it goes. It might be useful for complete beginners, but I don't think it's sophisticated enough to separate even moderately confusing species. I do find it useful for narrowing down wild flowers, but that's possibly because my knowledge is much lower, or there's less individual variation.

But but... if that's just (as that linked page indicates) mirroring the phone's screen to the PC's screen, it's only going to be able to interact with files/photos on the phone - which is not the OP's goal. Or maybe you can browse to the PC if PC and phone are connected by USB cable?! What fun.

It all depends on how you have your phone setup. I can browse the files on my PC from my Android phone when they are on the same network.