• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Maggots and wild birds (1 Viewer)

Johnnie boy

England
While I’m no expert on our garden birds eating live maggots one thing I have noticed while feeding live mealworms is that they usually kill them before they eat them.
This maybe applied to feeding maggots as well as I’m sure that if eaten alive the maggots will continue to feed on its host from the inside out.
Any views on that from those of you more informed than me.
The reason for this posting is that we have a blackbirds nest with 3 five day old chicks , today the female has gone missing and the male has been feeding them all day on mealworm, garden worms etc.
my concern is 1 will they survive the night without her brooding them and 2 will he be able to provide enough normal food to sustain them.

Hi, Johnnie boy and welcome to the forum on behalf of the staff and moderators. I’m sorry but I can’t help with your question. Hopefully someone from your side of the pond will be along to answer.

Welcome aboard Johnnie and enjoy your time with us.
I'm certainly no expert but I have watched some birds do the same in killing an insect before eating. I don't know why it hadn't dawned on me as to why until I read your post so thank you for that :)

Hi Johnnie and a warm welcome from me too. I don't think the live maggots would actually injure the birds directly, but they may eat the food that's in the stomach. I've not really had a chance to observe this behaviour, as I only have feed dried mealworms.