• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

My Swarovski EL 8.5x42 Review (2 Viewers)

Gdavis248

United States
These Swaros are my first pair of "Alpha" level binoculars and just fyi, I am not a professional optics reviewer. Just a regular guys opinion and observations.

I was upgrading from mid-tier level ~$500 binoculars which were good but I just knew there had to be more. Just a quick short history, I've spent time with some Vortex Vipers, Nikon Monarch 7's, and currently own some Kowa BD II XD (all 8x42). But I kept reading about how great top tier binoculars like Swarovski were. I know there are other brands but for whatever reason I was drawn to Swarovski.

Once I got my hands on these I could immediately tell they are a high quality product. I love the fit and finish of the binoculars. The rain guards fit perfectly with a satisfying hold. I love the attachment system of the eye cups, it is very clean and they pop in and out easily but feel secure. I love the unique strap connection system. They include different mounts so you can attach traditional straps other than the unique Swarovski attachment. The only downside here, which I will admit, is baffling given the price- they do not come with a case of any kind, just a bag. Oh well. There are a few other small accessories and paperwork.