• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New Lens vs Digiscoping (1 Viewer)

OronoBirder

United States
I'm new here, just found the site trying to find answers. I am an amateur photographer now using a Sony A6500, usually with a Tamron 18-300 lens.

I've been considering the Sigma 150-600 lens for birding, but found myself distracted by the alternative of digiscoping. That alternative would give me greater magnification, but what are the downsides? From reading some of the comments, it seems as though the digiscope adds some difficulties, but not having tried it I don't know what the problems are. Can someone elaborate on this?

I bird, occasionally carrying tripod and scope, but at least 75% of the time I have my a6600 and 100-400GM with me. The idea of having to setup tripod as I go along, is a deal-killer, full-stop ;-) The camera is bad enough, but at least that's always at my side as I look/watch birds with binos. It's possible to walk/bird with binos and camera, but digiscoping would require a sling so I don't have to quickly extend tripod legs etc. and would be incredibly cumbersome. Thus the reality that I carry scope no more than 10% of the time and only when birding big open areas - shorebirds, etc.

The 300mm would not be enough for me, since the 400 barely gets me there. I do have a 1.4x but I'm still not happy with IQ degradation. I've also been tempted by moving to a 600mm lens... we'll see. The 100-400 is superb IQ and relatively compact, and as a bonus, does great close-up.