• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Newbie here (1 Viewer)

Kevin123

United Kingdom
Just need some help / guidelines about recording birds you’ve seen.

being new; one does not want to record wrongly

1) I spotted an interesting bird and couldn’t quite identify and asked a young couple in the hide. I thought sanderling, she with a field guide thought it was a knot. as they say it’s difficult. Can I accept her appraisal?

2) I spotted a lovely small chocolate bird in the undergrowth and when home identified as a chetti’s warbler. I’m still inexperienced and nervous of adding to my list.

what’s etiquette of maintaining a life lis, I may get a variety of answers but would like some views.

Hi Kevin and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators. Your list is your own, so what you put on it is really up to you. However, the problem arises if you come into competition (family, friend or more formal on line listing which have rules). In my early days I decided that I'd only put on my list what I identified. If someone told me what a bird was, I'd only list it if I could see the identifying features for myself.

If you have a camera, you can try getting a picture to post on here asking for help, or get a recording, which you can post here too.

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I look forward to hearing your news.