• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon 300mm f/4 AF-S for a new birder (1 Viewer)

buddingbirder

Hello.

I'm relatively new to birding, however I've been a photographer for quite a while, doing some astrophotography. I'd like to start trying some wildlife photography, mainly birds. I've started out by trying some photos with an old 200mm MF Nikon prime lens, which didn't give me nearly enough reach. So, I'm looking to upgrade to a newer, AF-S model that will give me better range.

I'm looking at Nikon's 300mm f/4 prime to start, and then probably adding the Nikon TC-14II in the future for further reach as the 300mm probably won't be enough (I'm assuming).

I'm also looking alternatively at Nikon's 70-300mm, which seems to be a better "all purpose" zoom, while if I bought the 300mm I may need to look at a zoom later on more other telephoto shots where 300mm is just too much reach (and I believe that I can't use TCs, the slower aperture is also a bit annoying). Also, how does the AF speed of this lens perform?

Or, do I just need to practice my bird shots with my current lens that I'm using? I'm still a bit unsure of some of the tricks to bird photography, I sat in a field today for a while, waiting for the birds, but none came no matter how patient I was. All that I ended up with was a few wood ticks, which are probably roaming around my house somewhere, it makes me nervous...