• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Osprey's in Burgundy (1 Viewer)

Hi

I am very new to birding and am yet to buy a decent camera or a pair of binoculars. I have however been trying to use the bird ID app to try and see what might be out there.

This morning as well as the regular visitors to my garden like swifts, magpie, jackdaw, sparrow, linnet, goldfinch etc the app recorded osprey.
I thought this is really un likely I have been here for a month and this is the first osprey that its recorded. So I check in the "Birds of France" book and it says "Summer migrant....Corsica and noth-central France". I'm in the cote d'or (21) so at the top of Burgundy and the bottom of Champagne. In in a small town thats in the middle of a farming area. Is it likely that Osprey's would visit this type of location?

Alex

Hi

I am very new to birding and am yet to buy a decent camera or a pair of binoculars. I have however been trying to use the bird ID app to try and see what might be out there.

This morning as well as the regular visitors to my garden like swifts, magpie, jackdaw, sparrow, linnet, goldfinch etc the app recorded osprey.
I thought this is really un likely I have been here for a month and this is the first osprey that its recorded. So I check in the "Birds of France" book and it says "Summer migrant....Corsica and noth-central France". I'm in the cote d'or (21) so at the top of Burgundy and the bottom of Champagne. In in a small town thats in the middle of a farming area. Is it likely that Osprey's would visit this type of location?

Alex