• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

recommend a model of binoc for a beginner (1 Viewer)

Nightwalker71

"Our task must be to free ourselves by widening ou
Hi all,
I am looking to invest in a pair of binoculars but beeing a complete novice I would like some advice and suggestions from those of you with the relevant experience.
As for price I dont have an unlimited budget but would like something that will last so quality and value for money are important.
I look forward to any comments/suggestions
Many thanks in advance

Darren

Hi Nightwalker,
Binocular buyers usually start with a versatile all purpose glass, maybe 7- 8 power and with 30-35mm ocular lenses, for a compact package that can serve in any situation, birding, sports, travel etc.
Your choices in that space are vast, from low cost Leupold Yosemites and Nikon Action Extremes at the low end to the Leica Ultravids and Zeiss FLs at the top. The Nikon Monarch line is a good mid price glass and many of the contributors here on BF have found the ZenRay range excellent value.
Do note that ratings are of limited use, binoculars are like glasses, each person has different eyes and what works for you may not work for the next person. There is no substitute for looking through the various binoculars with your own eyes before making a choice.