• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spotting scope advice (1 Viewer)

Richard SP

United Kingdom
Hi All,
I am fairly new to bird watching about 3 years now. I bought a second hand RSPB AG80 scope to get me started.
I am now looking to upgrade to something better. Any advice to which makes to get or avoid would be very welcome. Budget is up to £1000

Hi All,
I am fairly new to bird watching about 3 years now. I bought a second hand RSPB AG80 scope to get me started.
I am now looking to upgrade to something better. Any advice to which makes to get or avoid would be very welcome. Budget is up to £1000
Hi Richard. Welcome!

Just to get the ball rolling what size scope are you looking for and do you want a zoom or fixed eye piece?

Will

Welcome Richard, perhaps take a look at some of the Vortex range of scopes. I’ve always preferred an angled scope with a 20X eyepiece but others will possibly advise a zoom. Do let us know what you one day choose 👍

You should be able to pick up a near mint Nikon ED82 and zoom within budget either by keeping an eye on UK dealers or from one of the Japanese sellers on ebay.

That's pretty much what I did, monarch 82 with the 20-60 zoom. Had to swap one sample out for a better one but the whole lot with the zoom was £990, Nikon x demo with a full warranty.

Very rare to get a naff one of any of Nikon's field scopes from what I've read.

Bit boring but more or less the best you can get, as it has been for the last 30 odd years ...

Will

Last edited: