• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Yet another bridge camera thread... (1 Viewer)

stevethehydra

Hi all, I'm thinking of getting a new bridge camera, as the Panasonic DMC-LZ30 (specs here: Specs - DMC-LZ30 LUMIX Bridge Cameras - Panasonic ) that I've had for 9 years is getting a bit battered and having problems like the zoom frequently sticking.

I'm not very technical and would like a camera that is simple to use and has a good autofocus as I struggle to get my head round manually adjusting stuff.

I'd also like a camera that's fairly lightweight as I'm into hiking and scrambling as well as birding (birds are probably 20-30% or so of my photos, the rest being mainly landscapes), so something not a lot bigger/heavier than the DMC-LZ30. From other threads here it seems like a lot of the recommended bridge cameras (like the Canon SX70 and the Nikon P950 - both also more expensive than I'd really be up for) are over 1kg in weight, whereas the DMC-LZ30 is half that.

One thing I find a bit frustrating about the DMC-LZ30 is its lack of a viewfinder, so if upgrading I'd like to get a camera that has one. Any recommendations?

Edited to add a couple more thoughts/questions:

- One thing that I appreciate about the DMC-LZ30 is that it uses AA batteries, as if I've forgotten to charge mine, I can easily buy some in a train station, supermarket or wherever. It seems like most of the bridge cameras I can find online now use their own battery packs. I don't think I've seen any discussion here of the (dis)advantages of AA batteries vs battery packs - what are people's thoughts on that?