• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zeiss SFL 8x40 Eyecup Stray light issue! (1 Viewer)

Mac198

United States
Hi all,

My name is Will and this is my first time posting to Birdforum. After seeing glowing reviews of the Zeiss SFL on this site I decided to purchase them back in October. It has been a fantastic binocular except for one issue. There is an incredible amount of light/ distracting reflections on the shiny bits of the eye pieces. I doubt it’s internal because it appears even with the objective covers on. It’s especially apparent while viewing in inclement conditions where light is diffused everywhere (cloudy days) or when there is a ton of light entering directly through the sides. I don’t have this issue with my Nikon Monarch M7’s so it surprised me that my that nicer SFL’s would have this.

Does anyone with these binoculars have a similar issue? A pair of Swarovski eye shields I purchased have helped but I really don’t like using them. It seems like a simple matte paint would have prevented this issue!

Thank you!

Attachments

• 9D99C210-9DEF-443F-9E63-05692265A805.jpeg
    9D99C210-9DEF-443F-9E63-05692265A805.jpeg
    682.2 KB · Views: 54
  • A6F4098D-E78C-4C58-8D3A-EC5AF4DC83FA.jpeg
    A6F4098D-E78C-4C58-8D3A-EC5AF4DC83FA.jpeg
    414.9 KB · Views: 54
Do you wear glasses ? Often this could do with having the IPD (interpupillary distance) at the right point,
or it could be having the eyecups, in or out to the proper position for your eyes.
Good luck, have some patience and try to get the optic to fit you.
Jerry