• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digital camera advice please. (1 Viewer)

harry eales

Ancient Entomologist
Hello Folks, I'm new to this section although I feel like I live on another section of this site at times. OK preliminaries over, down to the nitty gritty.

Last night I was offered a digital camera by a friend who has owned it from new for the past 18 months. My own experience of camera's is restricted more to Box Brownies than modern equipment.

It is a Fujifilm FinePix S602 Zoom. 3.1 million effective pixels, 6.03 million recorded pixels, the camera comes with loads of built in doodads, bells, whistles and flash. It also has Macro and Super Macro settings. With it was a case, three packs of rechargable batteries (new) a 128 meg memory card, also new, a mains battery charger, CD-ROM, and the Cable connector to download to a USB port.

I know it is good working order as he took a number of pictures on different setting, with and without flash and downloaded then onto his PC. He wanted to dispose of it, because he has bought something better.

I was wanting a decent camera to take close up photographs of insects and I thought that this camera may be suitable.

In a rash moment of enebriation I gave him the £100.00 he was asking for everything.

My questions are:-

1. Will it take good quality close up pictures of insects.
2. Have I been had. or,
3. Have I got a bargain.

I would appreciate an experts view.