• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zoom vs. fixed eyepieces in the real world (1 Viewer)

Alan Gage

So I'm new to the world of birding and living on the Iowa prairie (and one who travels a lot) I thought it would be fun to get a spotting scope. I'm trying to keep this relatively cheap but of course my budget keeps creeping up the longer I look. Locally there is very little available for me to try out in person with virtually nothing in the middle range. Either low or high with nothing in between and I haven't seen anything without a zoom lens.

Which leads me to my question about eyepieces. Coming from a strong photography background I'm well aware of the quality differences between a zoom and fixed lens and I also know there's a huge difference between a cheap zoom and an expensive zoom lens. That being said when it comes to real world usage sometimes those differences aren't so vast after all.

I've been looking at specs and reading comments about scopes and eyepieces but with my limited experience I don't know how all this actually translates to real world usage.

So, in real world usage (not USAF test charts) how noticeable is the difference between a good zoom eyepiece and a fixed eyepiece compared at the same magnification.

And how does field of view translate into the real world? Looking at the specs I see that most 30x fixed eyepieces have a larger field of view then a zoom lens at 20x. This makes it seem like a no brainer to just get the fixed 30x. But does the focal length at 20x change enough that even though the FOV is smaller it's still easier to locate a target?