• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

My Birding Targets (1 Viewer)

malskelton

Enthusiastic Amateur
England
Hi guys

Those of you who I have been in contact with will know that I am a very enthusiastic amateur who doesn't have as much time as I would like, but love seeing new species for the first time.

At present my life list ( which I started again in 2000 ) is only at 149 - the latest being Kittiwake in Bridlington harbour ;)

I've got a trip on Saturday morning to Malham Cove to hopefully knock off the number 1 bird on my list - Peregrine and take me to 150.

Below is a list of the 51 birds I would love to see to reach the magical 200. This is my 2006 / 2007 target :bounce:

1 PEREGRINE FALCON
2 GOSHAWK
3 BITTERN
4 LONG EARED OWL
5 TAWNY OWL
6 LITTLE OWL
7 WHITE TAILED SEA EAGLE
8 CRESTED TIT
9 HOODED CROW
10 RAVEN
11 BLACK GUILLEMOT
12 GREAT NORTHERN DIVER
13 RED THROATED DIVER
14 CROSSBILL
15 NIGHTJAR
16 STONE CURLEW
17 GOLDEN ORIOLE
18 HAWFINCH
19 GOLDEN PHEASANT
20 STONECHAT
21 CUCKOO
22 ROSEATE TERN
23 GREAT SKUA
24 ARCTIC SKUA
25 MANX SHEARWATER
26 SOOTY SHEARWATER
27 GREAT WHITE EGRET
28 PIED FLYCATCHER
29 WRYNECK
30 LITTLE GULL
31 SPOONBILL
32 BAR TAILED GODWIT
33 COMMON SCOTER
34 REDSTART
35 CORN BUNTING
36 WOODCOCK
37 KNOT
38 MARSH TIT
39 SANDERLING
40 WATER RAIL
41 BARNACLE GOOSE
42 BEWICKS SWAN
43 NIGHTINGALE
44 DOTTEREL
45 GARGANEY
46 LONG TAILED DUCK
47 CHOUGH
48 SNOW BUNTING
49 TWITE
50 BEE EATER
51 GREAT GREY SHRIKE

None of these are particularly difficult, most are classified as common or local.