• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Am I being a bore (1 Viewer)

OSCAR-C

Im a newbie at spotting and just spent my 1st time in the hides at Pennington Flash,I took my Bird ident book with me but when I spotted something I could not look it up quick enough.
So I kept asking fellow spotters What was that,they were alright at first answering my queries but soon got fed up with me,so I moved on.
Is there a quicker way than books to find what Ive spotted.
I dont wat to bore anyone else.

Im a newbie at spotting and just spent my 1st time in the hides at Pennington Flash,I took my Bird ident book with me but when I spotted something I could not look it up quick enough.
So I kept asking fellow spotters What was that,they were alright at first answering my queries but soon got fed up with me,so I moved on.

Probably a good solution is to find a friend who already knows about birds and go out with them a few times to learn the basics. Asking a few times in a hide is okay, I think nobody will mind this, but agree asking others too often might disrupt their day out.

Most birdwatchers like to share their knowledge, hence forums like this one. I suppose that you will recognise more bird species the second time that you go to your local site, still more the third time, etc. Familiarising yourself with the pictures of the birds in your identification book before then will help, too, as will on-line videos and the likes, which we never had when I started birdwatching back in the mid 1960s! Enjoy your new hobby.

Allen

Hi Oscar