• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nesting Bluetits (1 Viewer)

Haypeters

Hello all I'm Hayley :)

I'm very new to this so please apologies if I'm doing things wrong.

I'm from Kent in the UK and I have put up a 3 section nest box on the back of my house on the second floor a few years ago but never noticed any interest the first year, until in the winter last year we went to check and all the 3 sections of the communal box were filled with moss, hair etc. Now I'm not sure if these are abandoned nests or if I just completely missed the nesting, everything In the last year. If they were abandoned I wonder what went wrong? I'm no expert at all. Anyhow, I have had a pair of very active bluetits who have emptied one section of the box and started filling it with lots of moss etc, we have added a camera and we can see them building away and what look like a lot of fluffing/dancing around in the box and lots of organising, one also seems to be sleeping in the box at night. Does this look quite hopeful? I've put plenty of bird feeders in my garden, which is normal. I'm just wary that it may have been unsuccessful previously and I would be really dissappointed if it happens again. Just want to make sure I'm doing the right thing. Or any expert advise anyone could offer would be amazing.

Thanks
Hayley