• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

IOC spreadsheet in Numbers? (1 Viewer)

SzimiStyle

The Shorebird Addict
I want to start working with IOC bird list on my iPad but the IOC brand new website offers only Excel sheets which is not readable by iOS version of Numbers. Any solution? Is there a plan to support Numbers format especially as the fancy ticking field is available in Numbers (checkbox).

My other problem is to work with the master list. I am not a function expert so my question is how to make a single column with the full scientific names? In the master sheet I can only see the second name of the scientific name. How to get the first name as that is not added to each row. Not sure I could write this clearly :-O

Looking forward to hear about any suggestions.

Best, Szimi

1) Ask someone with Excel to load the file and then save it in .csv format. It's likely that Numbers can read .csv files (they are pure text files).
2) I'm no function expert either, so part two will have to await such a person.

I want to start working with IOC bird list on my iPad but the IOC brand new website offers only Excel sheets which is not readable by iOS version of Numbers. Any solution? Is there a plan to support Numbers format especially as the fancy ticking field is available in Numbers (checkbox).

My other problem is to work with the master list. I am not a function expert so my question is how to make a single column with the full scientific names?Szimi

Life List spreadsheet seems to be version 2.11 rather than 3.0, if that's important.

The Life List spreadsheet should be/is v3.1.