• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Blockers (1 Viewer)

timmyjones said:
Will be intrested to hear anyones blockers and as im only 15 i dont have any

Hi Timmy, my biggest blocker by miles is Little Auk, and I've been birding for 28 years, mostly based in Britain. I even have found a dead one in Norway and have it's wing, but I've never seen one alive. I hope you have more luck with them than I have !

Hi Timmy,
I had a blocker once, but a dose of laxatives soon cleared that up....
Oh, you mean birds?
Harry

Hi Harry

i wouldnt think you need laxitives in your neck of the woods, just the local Stout, B :) it works for me anyway ;) .

Sorry Timmy back on the thread look at my avatar, surely a future blocker!!!!

Sylvia.

Hi Sylvia,
Whatever about me being gripped off, it looks like the bird in your avatar (an Oven-ready Bird, n'est-ce pas?) is being gripped....
Harry

Third time lucky, being utterly serious (or as serious as a self-confessed subversive element within the twitching scene can be), perhaps my best 'blockers' (and I agree with Timmeeh, the phrase is a bit rubbish) would be Eastern Olivaceous Warbler (Ireland's second, following a review of all previous records...the previously accepted most recent one to that was the 1990 bird, which 'became' a Sykes's Warbler, so many who saw that never travelled for the 1999 bird (the only other Eastern Olly was trapped and ringed in 1977, and was never available to the masses)), Baltimore Oriole (successfully twitched by only 20+ birders, including a few visiting British birders), and potentially, in time, Blue-winged Warbler....