• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Colombia Birding Advice (2 Viewers)

Zam

England
I am planning on going to colombia mid febuary for two weeks on a low-medium budget and i am trying to see as many species as possible i don't mind what species they are but would be best if they were more unique compared to ecuador and costa rica as i am going to those countries as well. just wondering what are the top spots and also i am a bit confused on how to do birding in pauxi pauxi and cerluean warbler reserves.

Any advice is helpful

I've got limited knowledge of Colombia having only visited once for a short trip, but eBird is your friend when it comes to working out target species / areas. Colombia certainly has more than it's share of endemic species.

In terms of staying at the Pro Aves reserves, you contact them, reserve direct and pay in advance. I stayed at El Paujil for a couple of nights which was great, but they're not cheap by Colombian standards - you are paying to help maintain the reserves. Fortunately accommodation pretty much everywhere else is good value, and it's easy to get around on a budget.