• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello, thank you for letting a novice in (1 Viewer)

Hello, thank you for letting a complete novice in.
Looking to glean all your knowledge, though I am running out of years.
I am going on a Fred Olsen Cruise ( not a Expedition) to Norway and Svalbard, due to ongoing events our stop at Pyramiden has been cancelled and now we have an overnight stop at Longyearbyen, could you offer any advice of where to look, I will be walking and not licenced to carry a firearm.
Thanking you in advanced, all information is a valuable asset.
regards
Afterburner

Hi AfterBurner and welcome to BirdForum from all the staff and moderators. Sorry I can’t help with your query but it sounds like a great trip.

Rich

Hi AfterBurner and welcome to BirdForum from all the staff and moderators. Sorry I can’t help with your query but it sounds like a great trip.

Rich
Hi Rich, I hope so, I will post anything I get, could be lots of snow photos. We did manage to book a boat trip which sets off at 6pm, we couldn't have done this had it not been an over night stop. the company is Better Moments, we are going on the 5 hour Catch of the Day trip. with it being daylight 24/7 hoping for anything. A normal Cruise ship, is not as good as an expedition cruise, but no way near as expensive. lots of eager spotters will get the rewards.
to put it into perspective, a 65 night cruise to South America with P&O, is cheaper than a 9 day expedition cruise to Svalbard, those who can afford it will see everything close up you get what you pay for.
regards
John