• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

I'm somewhat new to birding and have a question about possible major defects on my spotting scope (see pictures). Kowa TSN-99a (1 Viewer)

nwoptics

United States
I purchased a binocular last year and have recently purchased a spotting scope, the Kowa TSN-99a.

I did a lot of research into different scopes and this is what I settled on. I had read about lemons and cherries among optics. Tolerances in the manufacturing process. I was also curious how my scope would perform against other high end optics.

I took my scope into a store which sells optics and set up an optics chart and image resolution chart on a pillar in the store approximately 70m away. I compared the swarovski atx 115mm to my tsn-99. I used both the mono and binocular eyepieces on the atx.

I was in the store comparing them directly for about 30min and spent an hour in the store. I found that I was able to focus the kowa more accurately and more easily for extreme fine details. I saw more detail from the kowa than the swarovski. Both optics were outstanding but this really made me happy with my purchase. Not only is the kowa smaller and lighter but it outperformed the swarovski. I also set up a chart that is supposed to test chromatic aberration and didn't notice it at all from the kowa. Both optics performed excellent in regards to CA although the tsn-99a seemed to perform better.