• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Italy's Abruzzo: Bears, Wolves, Chamois & Birds (2 Viewers)

Paul Collins

I have been visiting the Abruzzo every summer and autumn since 2017, for its endemic mammals (Marsican Bear, Apennine Wolf, Chamois) and fantastic birdlife. A relatively unknown part of Italy among naturalists, there has been a gradually growing interest in the area but it still feels unspoilt especially in autumn. With rolling green mountain slopes dotted with incredibly picturesque medieval villages, beech woodlands and clear rivers, the area is perfect for a fix of nature and culture.

From late September, I have observed Red Deer rutting alongside the azure streams of the Sangro River and in the valleys, and Hoopoes, Lilford's White-Backed Woodpecker and Wrynecks calling in the forests. Tired stags make easy targets for Apennine Wolves, which have just emerged from their dens with their cubs. The critically endangered Marsican Brown Bears (fewer than 60 left in Italy) come down to fruiting trees in village orchards; whilst on mountain screes, Apennine Chamois (a charismatic species of antelope) raise their young under the ever-present gaze of soaring Griffon Vultures.