• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tarka trail - Fremington quay (1 Viewer)

Binoscoper

Also a spotting scoper
I regularly cycle the stretch from Torrington to as far as Fremington Quay. Just out of curiosity how many bf members visit this area? On my last trip (mid feb) I saw quite a few people kitted out with binoculars and scopes.

On my last trip my sightings where sand pipers, Curl buntings, egrets ect...

Also would Braunton burrows be a worthwhile trip out?

You would be extremely unlikely to see Cirl Buntings anywhere in North Devon. I've been birding in North Devon for 35 years and never seen one.

I have always found Braunton Burrows to be disappointing for birds. Stick to flowers and butterflies in the summer!

I am fairly new to this whole birding thingy. I shall try to get pictures of things next time I'm out. Going by memory (especially mine!) Isn't the most reliable way.

2nd to last time a chap with an atx 85 told me he saw some herons on the sand banks mid way out. The last time I got chatting to someone with old opticron verano's 10x42 and he corrected me by saying egrets?! I couldn't tell that far out, they just looked tall and bendy necked to me:h?: