• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

alpen teton's ? (1 Viewer)

frodo#1

Hello I am new to this fourm and to birding. I am looking to buy a new pair of binoculars i have been looking at leupold olympic and nikon monarch's. I have been leaning toward the leupold. BUT just recently i went to a benifit and won a coupon for 60% off msrp on a pair of alpen teton 8.5 x 50's . I have never heard of this brand . the msrp is $900 and i found them on the web for around $600. I would still have to pay $350 for these and this is about the same price as the leupold's . I would like your opinion on the teton's are they as good or better than the leupold's . There isn't a store around here to compare these and i don't have a lot of money so this is a very large investment for me and i would like to make the best choice. Thank you for your advice.

Buy either the Leupold Olympic you have looked at or, better yet, get a Leupold Pinnacles - which can be had at eagleoptics.com for $380.

There is nothing in the Alpen line worth owning.

Lucznik, Seeing how most of these binoculars, Leupold, etc. are rebranded , why would you say that about Alpen line? Just wondering.
Regards,Steve