• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Exposure Compensation (1 Viewer)

geordie graham

I am still very new to photography and after getting to grips with general bird photography I am now trying to get to grips with E V compensation.I have a Pentax K10D which has a digital preview which can show the histogram of the shot once it is focused etc.Am I right in thinking that by checking the histogram and dialing in +/- compensation depending on the position of the peaks and getting the peaks more or less central,then I should have the exposure more or less correct.Also is it best to use 1/2 or 1/3 increments.I have noticed some people have +/- compensation permanently dialled in,does anybody do this with their K10D.Thanks

Graham

What you describe might be useful in an ideal situation, but by the time you get done doing all that your bird will have flown, or at least moved into different light, and you'll miss your photo. Most of the histogram will describe areas of the image that aren't your bird anyway - background and foreground foliage, water and sky that dominate the image.

When I'm out with the camera I just estimate an EV setting from experience, and use exposure bracketing. After a few frames I check the result and adjust EV a bit. Etc, etc, etc.

One thing you could try is pick some spots that represent areas you're likely to take a photo towards, and check the histogram for those areas before the birds arrive. Then dial in the approximate compensation you estimated for those areas when the moment arrives.