• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Another BBC request! - hunt for smart squirrels & ingenious birds (1 Viewer)

... I know it's a controversial subject, but I use the words 'squirrel' and 'hunt' in the same sentence advisedly!

Following Kiri's post yesterday regarding passionate people for Springwatch can I make another plea from the BBC. I'm a producer at the Natural History Unit in the UK where we're currently making a two-part series on animal intelligence for BBC1 and the Discovery Channel. Although we're working with some of the world's leading scientists this is a project which also gives us a wonderful opportunity to feature charming and more anecdotal 'intelligent' behaviour which I hope may trigger some thoughts in Birdforum members.

The two areas we're particularly interested in are persistent squirrels and examples of ingenious or intelligent bird behaviour you may have seen or heard about.