• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Choice of Canon lens for beginner in Bird Photography (1 Viewer)

artyfax

I am new to photography of birds, but am not a beginner in photography, I just can’t resist having a go living (and working) on the North Norfolk Coast.
At the moment I have a Canon EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L USM which although an excellent lens is not suitable for photographing birds due to its short focal length. I purchased a canon x2 tc , a mistake really as apart from losing the AF it loses 2 stops and 4 x less light is more of a problem than I first anticipated, I just didn’t really think it through, I admit!
What I would appreciate is opinions on the two options I am considering as a lens to photograph “flight shots” in particular.
I say flight shots as the first choice seems to be suited to these, the Canon 400 f5.6

But this is the alternative.
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L USM IS and use the x2 TC I already have, with it.
On the face of it this would give me a 400mm 5.6 lens but with IS and still AF.

So it’s a bit heavier and more expensive, but not much more.
I know theoretically there will be image quality issues as this combination will not be on a level playing field with a prime lens but could the IS outweigh this?

I haven’t mentioned the camera as this post is really about lens/combinations but just for the record it’s a 350D

I suspect apart from optical issues there maybe physical, ie wieight and balancing issues that not having had experience in bird photography I haven’t considered?