• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Cockatoo with no crest ? Sydney, Australia (1 Viewer)

Hello ! I’m brand new to this, I signed up about 3 minutes ago !
We have heaps of birds that come to our backyard throughout the day (but mainly early morning and late afternoon), and today this little guy appeared ! Normally the cockatoos come in groups (of varying numbers) but this one came all alone, and was a bit more timid than the ones that know us now. He came earlier today and then an hour or so later when i opened the back door to the deck he flew down again. This one doesn’t seem to have a crest at all, he (?) was in the garden for a long time and was letting me get closer and closer so i took some photos. I’m not an expert at all just passively curious, it doesn’t seem to have any trace of the yellow crest at all, but does look like he has the pale yellow feathers under his tail and wings like the others do, and you can see in some light the light yellow on the cheeks.
Might be super obvious and I just don’t know. I use Merlin to keep track of the birds that I see in the garden but there wasn’t anything like this one on there. Just wondering if anyone knows anything !
(I couldn’t add videos to this post so added some photos and some screenshots from videos where you can see under hiss wings etc)

Attachments

• FullSizeRender.jpeg
    FullSizeRender.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 28
  • FullSizeRender.jpeg
    FullSizeRender.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 24
  • IMG_8717.png
    IMG_8717.png
    12 MB · Views: 24
  • IMG_8716.jpeg
    IMG_8716.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 26
  • IMG_8715.jpeg