• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Equipment suggestion for recording owls for research (2 Viewers)

nocturnalbirder

Czech Republic
As part of my Ph.D., I am studying the responses of Tawny owls to dummies placed in their territories, along with playback of territorial calls. The physical responses of the owls will be recorded as video using a thermal camera (which I already have) placed 30 m away on a tripod, and the vocal responses will be recorded using an audio recorder that I plan to tape or fix to the tripod. I expect the resident owl to be flying around and changing positions (on different trees), while it continues to call so a directional microphone would not work. And it may start to call when it could be about 100 m away (or a bit more) and quickly come very close to the dummy. Eventually, I plan to extract some variables like the total number of calls produced by the owl and its peak frequency from the audio recordings. My idea was to get something like the Zoom H5 and using the X/Y capsule that comes with it. But I would really appreciate your suggestions. :) My budget is 300 euros.

My budget is 300 euros.

I was going to suggest a WildLife Acoustics SM4 or SM Mini, but they will both blow your budget.

These are both passive recorders, so designed for research and monitoring. They come in a weather tight housing, that can be secured in place with a cable lock (rather like a trail camera).

The mics are omni, so pick up everything in the general area. Gain can be set at different levels, and in a quite area, you can pick up owls at a reasonable distance.