• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

First serious birding camera advice (budget €2000 - 3000) (1 Viewer)

eldereth

Belgium
Hi Everyone,

I got into birding and bird photography last year using a borrowed Nikon Z50 with a Nikkor 50-250mm f/4.5-6.3 lens. I have taken some nice pictures with it, but I feel there is still room for improvement. I would also like a bit more zoom.

I'm now looking for an upgrade and am looking to spend around €2000 (can go up to €3000 if the quality upgrade warrants it)

I am by no means a professional photographer, most pictures I take are for ID purposes.
I will usually be walking 5-10 miles in mostly forested areas, so there needs to be at least some low-light capability (weather isn't always great where I live either).
A light weight is also important since I will be shooting handheld. The Z50 has been amazing in this aspect.

My most important dillemma's are:
DSLR-Mirrorless-Bridge cameras

Full frame-crop sensor.

DSLR: I'm looking at the Canon 7d Mk II with a 100-400mm sigma lens, but I'm a bit worried about the weight. Does anyone have experience lugging 3kg of equipment around and shooting handheld with it? How hard is it?

Bridge cameras: I'm a bit weary about low light performance and being able to track birds with the zoom. can you be quick enough to find a hyperactive bird in a brush?

Mirrorless: This seems ideal, but I've heard some complaints about the light body not balancing well with a heavier lens

Does anybody have any experiences with setups in this price range? Recommendations?

Hi eldereth!