• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Harare in August? (2 Viewers)

Derektron

Part Time Birder
Hi all,

I will be in Harare during the end of August this year and I have freed up 3-days to dedicate solely to birding. Any suggestions to make the most of such a short visit? This will be my first trip to Africa, so I'm a complete newbie to the birds in this region. Any help/tips would be appreciated :)

Regards,
Derek

Derek, no knowledge of the subject, just want to wish you welcome to Birdforum!

Niels

Hi, Derek. I’m recently back from a trip so can relay my experience…

Gosho Park is a couple of hours away – well worth making a very early start and planning a day in the miombo woodland there (dawn in Zimbabwe last month was at 4.30!).

Boulder Chat occurs in Gosho but is perhaps more reliable at Christon Bank in Harare – again, try early morning.

Then there are the Harare lakes and marshes, which I don’t know so well. Even for a short trip though, I think it would be worth getting hold of a copy of Sasol’s Southern African Birdfinder book. This contains loads of info and a lot of it is still relevant despite its 2006 publication date. Around 9 sites close to or in Harare are covered – it’s one of the most concentrated areas of gen in the whole book.

In Harare, we stayed at Crake Cottage (easily found on the web). Just the job for birders and the owner knows the birding sites well.

I hope you get more postings as there should be no shortage of more up to date info. Extracts from my soon-to-be-published report follow.
Have a great trip,
Andy.