• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help request: some doubts about M5/M7 (2 Viewers)

Hello everyone! I need help in choosing my first binoculars. I finally decided to buy one so I can do some birdwatching, the main if not only reason for my purchase. After reading a lot of reviews and trying a few at a few stores I ended up being undecided between two: the monarch m5 and the m7, both 8x42. I bought both and am testing them to figure out which one to keep and which one to return, but being a novice I am not entirely sure of my judgment so I am turning to you for some opinions and advice.

I want to start by saying that they both look amazing to me for their price range, I'm just trying to figure out if the m7 is worth the financial effort (I bought them for 335€ and 465€ respectively). Optically, I can't see much difference, other than some slight advantage of the m7 in particularly difficult lighting conditions. When the light is low it comes out slightly brighter and sharper, in backlight it has better CA handling. But we are talking about really minor differences, at least to my eyes: both seem to perform very well. If that were all there was to it I think I would keep the M5. However, as we all know, the M7 has a much wider fov, and on paper this is the main reason why I'm leaning toward it: I feel that the M5 might get tight on me relatively soon because of this limitation of its own, while the M7 seems to me to be a more complete pair of binoculars that might satisfy me for a longer time.