• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Leucistic Red-Tailed Hawk?? Possibly? (2 Viewers)

TrailerDude

United States
Hey guys, I'm a newbie for sure. I live in East Texas. I've seen this bird for a few years now and I've tried to do some research on it. I figured i would come to the experts instead going down the rabbit hold of the internet to find out I have no idea what I'm looking at LOL. Ive been taking pics of this Hawk but these I took today. I generally see him few times a year and he is always on my property high in the trees. I guess my question is, what would be the official name of this bird and how rare is he. Its cool to see when he shows up. I'm close to the Lake Fork area so seeing a bald eagle is a common thing here but not a white Hawk. Any input would be great.DSC_0156.JPGDSC_0157.JPGDSC_0158.JPGDSC_0159.JPG

Hi TrailerDude and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators.

What a gorgeous looking hawk you have there, you're so lucky. Yes, it would be a leucistic bird, but I'm afraid I couldn't give you an identification, so I'll move your post to the ID forum.

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I look forward to hearing your news.

Seems to be no feather-pigmentation at all (dark 'markings' on flight-feathers in pics 2-3 appear to be shadows), so who knows - but structure looks ok for red-tailed hawk (and other Buteo, etc., species).

I agree that it looks like a Red-tailed Hawk based on its shape. In at least the first photo the eye looks like it may be red, which would make this an albino rather than leucistic.