• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Long term quality...Leica or Swarovski (2 Viewers)

You use the bins you're carrying. Not long ago I was able to enjoy a toad with my SLCHD 42 (possibly Woodhouse's but I'm no expert) that would never have allowed me to approach any closer. Last year (with HD+ 32) I was amazed by a Cecropia moth. Reptiles, insects, who knows what may be found along a trail. Close focus matters.
That’s why I said almost. If close focus observing is something done often, then the recent EL’s may not be a good choice for those individuals. if 3 feet shorter focus makes or breaks their use for that purpose , then I’d assume that would rule a whole lot of binoculars. When I know I’m going to be doing lots of close focus observing I usually pick the tool for the job, and for me that may be smaller lower magnification binoculars. Or if not, I could just take a step back, that might cover the 3 feet. 😏

Paul

Last edited by a moderator:
There are days when the birds go into hiding, but the dragonflies, butterflies and rhino beetles are stepping out to play. Ever look at a Mantis close up? Frightening! The close focus can keep one fully engaged until the birds reemerge.

Demonstrating how progressive the company was jumping into the current pond where companies are trying to out do one another.

Also known as “jumping on the bandwagon” and many other colloquialisms.

I have had the rubber covering and rubber eyecap surrounds on my Swarovski CL 8 x 25 become sticky and very unpleasant to use.