• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New member - Looking for Interstate 80 bird spots this week (2 Viewers)

jaypeter1

United States
Hello everyone, I have been birding for about 10 years. I live in Connecticut USA and spend a good part of winter in Wyoming and Idaho mountains. I am a photographer first, birding came as I tried to species ID my photos.
My "thing" is my all-time photo bird list. In my rules, a bird doesn't count without a photo to prove it. I have a computer directory with separate folders for each species. Basically an all time lifer list. Of course some birds have a fuzzy shot that may prove it, but the other main goal is magazine quality images which happens every once in a while. I chase after all birds, no real specialty. I am always trying to learn something.
I will get in my car next week and drive to Wyoming. I have done this cross country ride 22 times in each direction, and have found a few bird spots along the way. Bear river in Utah, Cranes in Nebraska, some spots on the river north of Omaha, Indiana dunes lakeshore. Some of the spots I might explore are based on time and having daylight, and I'm sure I pass some great locations in the dark. I have done variations of I80 and I90 in the past, but a minor detour or two could be taken. I have been looking at slight southern route variations that might go thru Louisville / St Louis / Kansas City which I have never done.
Any input on must visit winter spots is welcome ! Birding wise this would be a better trip in warm weather, but I will take what I can get.

thank you, Jay Petersen