• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Old D80 new lenses or replace? (1 Viewer)

bdaabat

United States
BTW: I happen to have an old Nikon D80 available. Would it make sense to find some additional lenses for this camera (which, while old is reasonably capable)? If so, which ones? Or, would it make more sense to start new (gulp) with more modern, capable kit?

Thanks!
Bruce

Apologies! This was a second post from the introduction page. One of the mods moved it here.

More background: I'm a newb to birding and an absolute novice at photography. The D80 was purchased in 2007 to try to grab images of my then reasonably fast moving 8 year old while he was playing baseball and football. This was NOT "photography"! I just left everything on auto and tried to be in a place where I could snap images whenever there was movement. Once he got older and less involved in sports, I got older and stopped lugging around camera gear...I have relied solely on my phone for the past 6 or so years.

Birding is a new thing for me. After retiring, I have had more time to explore our area. We've been to Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge a few times in the past couple months. It's been amazing to be able to see some of the migrating birds that stop there (as well as some of the natives)! I'd love to be able to capture some of those images. Have tried a couple different adapters to use the phone camera to connect to binoculars. Unfortunately, the adapters I've tried have not worked well. That frustration led me here.

I'd appreciate suggestions/advice/whatever you might be willing to share!