• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Pentax Papilo 8.5X21 - user experience (1 Viewer)

ariban

Hello everyone. I live in Rajasthan, a state in the western part of India. These are the tropics and ours is hot (read very hot), dusty place but light is more often very good, say 300+ sunny days or so a year.
I am primarily a bird photographer. But I watch birds too. Amateur bird photographers like me are dime a dozen in these parts and a Fb like or a Instgram share is all most of us care about. Not many in these parts carry a bin when out with nature, unless it is to look for migratory Falcons on the featureless dry bed of Sambhar Salt lake or maybe in the grasslands or dunes of the Thar desert.
Like most guys I too like my toys. I inherited my Dad's 'Boots' branded 7x42 Porros. They still work, are nice and clear enough but they are more than 50 years old and so am I.
I have had more bins. An unnamed porro made in Japan, bought much used in 1993 - armored, heavy with individual eye focusing but bright and clear in fading light. It has no rain cover, objective covers yet not a speck of fungus or dust inside. A dinky made in China Zhumel 8X40, picked up by a friend from USA for less than 45 USD sometime around 2011, which is actually easy to carry and good enough for most purposes, a Bushnell Legend Ultra HD 10x 42 - just about ok - never warmed up to it and a very battered Zeiss FL 8x42 - which has an eyepiece falling out, scratches on the eyepieces and a loose diopter adjustment. Gone for a service to Zeiss India but not too hopeful.