• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Soft/Blurry Images (1 Viewer)

Andy Strachan

Scotland
Hey guys.
Another one of these threads.. I'm sure there must be loads :LOL:
I've seen other related threads on this topic, but to diagnose my own issue I think I need some help.
And so you know as well, I am fairly new to photography.

So, I've recently purchased a Sigma 150-600mm C for my Nikon D3300.
I've spent a lot of hours with this lens now, out and about, trying different settings all the time etc., but for the life of me I just cannot get sharp images. The issue is mainly at full zoom, but at any distance I've never been satisfied.
I always go handheld, and am aware that it's a heavy lens and motion blur could be an issue, but to try and combat the blur I have to go to ridiculous shutter speeds to only then get a half decent image of a still bird! I have a good steady hand in general and don't believe that I could possibly be that bad :LOL: I check out lots of Flickr feeds and compare camera settings etc., and seemingly everyone gets much sharper shots with much lower shutter speeds while using the same lens. And I know some of them might have been using a tripod, I'm sure, but most won't be. I've been taking images at 1/3000 plus for still shots just because I'm at a loss for how to improve them any other way. Any images taken under 1/1000 then just forget it.
I am aware also that the more zoom, the more likely to blur. But most images are going to be taken at full zoom.
Not one image has been as sharp as I'd like.