• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Suggestions about Nikon D7500 with Sigma 50-500 (1 Viewer)

maj.sujan

birdblog.majsujan
Norway
Hi everyone,
I'm using Nikon D7000 with Nikon 70-300mm and I'm not completely happy with the reach of 300mm. I'm new to bird photography and can't afford to buy a 200-500mm right away.
I have an offer to buy a Sigma 50-500mm with Nikon D7500 for 650+350 euros. I'm thinking of selling the old set-up in that case.
Is it worth it to go for a Sigma 50-500 or should I wait more? I need some suggestions before proceeding with the deal.

Hi Majsujan
It sometimes takes a little time before someone with experience of the right camera and lenses sees your post. So please do not be discouraged that you haven't had a reply yet. More than 55 people have looked at your post so it is being noticed.

Lee

I think the D7500 would be a worthwhile upgrade on the D7000, but I'm not so sure about the lens. The 50-500mm is a very large, heavy lens which might not give you a great improvement in image quality over the 70-300.
I have a D7200, 300mm PF with 1.4xTC and it is a great lightweight combination for bird photography, especially as I am a birder first and photographer second - I don't miss not having a zoom as the situations where you are too close are rare, and in any case it has excellent close focussing. You still get a decent amount of reach, and have I would imagine better autofocusing and better image quality than the 50-500, meaning you can crop images quite a lot and they still look good.