• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Two garden visitors Kent UK (1 Viewer)

Hi All,

I'm completely new to birding so please forgive my ignorance. I've had two new birds approach the feeder and I'm not sure what they are.

The still photo is the only picture I have of this bird. Is this a blackcap? This is a shot from an outside camera. I didn't see the bird directly, so don't have any more information than is in the picture.

I also can't identify the bird in the two short video clips. It was about 6am a couple of days ago, and it made two attempts to get the bird seed but presumably couldn't perch. It seems to have a black stripe with a thin white line above across the side of its head and some white and black markings on the top of the wings. I've searched on a couple of sites and the Merlin app but haven't found anything that seems to match. Can anyone help?

Attachments

• 1683119524603~3.mp4
    3.4 MB
  • 1682856412311~2.jpg
    1682856412311~2.jpg
    426.4 KB · Views: 108
The bird that flies in and out very quickly is much larger than the sparrows? Another pic below, a bit blurry because it's captured from the video, but it shows its size relative to the sparrows.

In the still shot, is that a sparrow (coming in on the right hand side) - I didn't realise they could have black capped heads and white ringed eyes?

Thank you for the welcome!

Attachments

• 1683119524603_exported_600~3.jpg
    1683119524603_exported_600~3.jpg
    467.6 KB · Views: 72
Last edited:
Welcome to Birdforum. I hope you enjoy your visits.