• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Which Egret? (2 Viewers)

socksitis

Yesterday in South Devon, with cattle mooching in the mud, not particularly graceful - more rumped up, no 'Marigold gloves' on his feet, is this just a little egret?

Attachments

• egret in flight.jpg
    egret in flight.jpg
    367.5 KB · Views: 207
  • Egret standing.jpg
    Egret standing.jpg
    454.6 KB · Views: 274
Last edited:
Yes that is quite possible. So do little egrets have a stage without the yellow feet? I am no expert on these birds, but is a little egret more graceful in its appearance and a longer beak?

Apologies for linking to photos of captive birds, but I hope it's OK for this purpose - some comparison shots of Little and Cattle Egrets together (in the aviary at Golders Hill Park in North London):
https://www.flickr.com/photos/126840895@N05/20262746143/in/album-72157655424945194/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/126840895@N05/20857653676/in/album-72157655424945194/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/126840895@N05/20697141269/in/album-72157655424945194/

Your bird is a Cattle for me on structure (and location/behaviour), but I am finding it odd that it has such a non-yellow bill... though Opus says "Juvenile birds have a greyish-black wash to bill and legs", so maybe this is a first-winter bird that's a bit delayed in bare part colour?

Yes that is quite possible. So do little egrets have a stage without the yellow feet? I am no expert on these birds, but is a little egret more graceful in its appearance and a longer beak?