• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Michigan 2008 (1 Viewer)

Phaethon

I noticed the last general posting for Michigan was getting a little stale. Any questions about birding here in the state I'll try to answer. I've been birding here for 35 years other than a 2 year stay in Botswana, Africa.

Allen Chartier's and Jerry Ziarno's "A Birder's Guide to Michigan" is an excellent book for anyone venturing to the state to see Kirtland's Warbler or any of the other northern US species.

Cindy's post below is good for a list of general birding spots across the state.

BA

BA, I do not see "Cindy's post below". Perhaps I need to have my glasses checked (just kidding). ;)

It is a good idea to keep these state lists current though. Keep up the good work!

Larry Lade
BirdForum Moderator

....anyone venturing to the state to see Kirtland's Warbler or any of the other northern US species....

BA

Hi BA, good idea. I'll "venture" into the area for the Kirtland's Warbler this spring with my brother. As we'll be at Point Pelee before, we may be a bit early. What are our chances around May 18? And which place should we try primarily? I recommended Mio, but is that really better?

Robert:

If you go to the area around Mio, Atlanta, or Grayling Michigan you will not miss the Kirtland's Warbler especially if you go on a US Forest Service Tour. The USFWS has a Kirtland's Warbler website. May 18th is a good time to come unless we have a late spring which happened last year but is usually not the case now that the climate is overly warm.

Robert: