• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Arctic Butterfly cleaning system (1 Viewer)

canonman77

United Kingdom
I am In the process of looking for the Arctic Butterfly cleaning system, but see there are quite a few of them around, can anyone point me In the right direction of which are the better ones to purchase... Thanks.

Sean.

I have no experience of Arctic Butterfly and have only once performed a wet cleaning (lots of puffing, though) on my 30D, which went swimmingly. On that basis I would hardly call myself the world's most experienced sensor cleaner.

However, my brother in law is a professional photographer (that doesn't make him a professional sensor cleaner :) ) who recently used an Arctic Butterfly to clean his Nikon D3 sensor and ended up with smears all over it. He believes it was from grease and whatnot left in the mirror chamber, rightly or wrongly, as part of the manufacturing process. Of course, maybe he was just unlikely, or maybe careless, or perhaps Nikon are more liberal with their muck spreading than Canon, but it's a cautionary tale about taking care not to pick up muck and spread it around and end up making matters worse.