• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Monarch or Sporters - limited budget (1 Viewer)

eyespy

Hi all,
I'm new to the bird watching game but have done a fair bit of bird photography over the years.
Recently I have started accompanying my elderly father on his bird watching outings - he is not so good on his feet these days and I'd rather him not go alone.
Knowing nothing about bins I purchased a pair of roof prism10x42's from sevendayshop.com for the pricely sum of £18. Now before you all start rolling around, they are OK (but not great) for viewing distanct objects but their close focus is a joke - about 75ft - so I've decided to go upmarket.
Now my "upmarket" is not that high up! My absolute maximum budget is £200.
I am trying to decide between Nikon Monarchs 10x42 for £189 or Nikon Sporters 10x42 for £109 - both of these are from mail order companies so I cannot try before I buy.
Is it worth spending the extra £80 for the Monarchs?
90% of their use will be on estuaries with the birds being some distance away hence my leaning toward 10x and the fact that my dad has a pair of 10x42 Leicas which are lovely.
Any advise as to the pros and cons of the Monarchs/Sporters will be greatly appreciated as will any advise on alternatives that do not break my £200 budget.
Incitentally - the 8x42 prices are Monarchs £189, Sporters £99 but would 8x42 be strong enough for distant viewing over an estuary?
Sorry for the long post - thanks,
eyespy.