• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Crows Chasing Birds of Prey. (1 Viewer)

Paddy Elsender

Hello Friends.
I am new to birding and ever since I was a child I have often wondered why Crows chase Hawks etc.
Please could someone give me an answer. Thank You.

self-preservation,removal of a threat to their young and because they can.
most birds will mob and chase hawks etc for the same reasons.
Tony

another reason sometimes is to steal food. sometimes crows try to get something of
the prey a hawk just captured.

there is also a difference in response to the kind of hawk.

1) Commom Buzzard:
Crows often attack it to drive the buzzard away, sometimes to steel food.
A Common Buzzard very rarely attacks crows and is normally not strong enough for this kind of prey

2) Goshawk
Deadly enemy of crows. Crows "go nuts" when they spot a Goshawk and (at least when in a group) will attack it very aggressively.

3) White-tailed Sea Eagle (Seeadler in German)
Crows often can be found close to the eagles, because when the eagle catches a
bird or a fish, there will often be something left for the crows.

Markus

Markus Jais said:
A Common Buzzard very rarely attacks crows and is normally not strong enough for this kind of prey

I'm not so sure about that. In this part of the world, crows (and particularly juvenile rooks) can be a significant part of a buzzard's diet at certain times of year. Last summer I was looking down into a buzzards nest in a deep valley and the nest and surrounding branches were covered in crows' wings (probably rooks).

Thanks Markus.